Suppliers / Abbvie

Abbvie

United States ABBV 57,000 employees 6 duplicate records merged Updated 9 July 2026

Abbvie is an API and finished-dose manufacturer based in United States. It holds 7 active US drug master files and 6 valid CEPs across a filed portfolio of 8 molecules. Its filings concentrate with Health Canada, US FDA and EMA. Its GMP standing is certified by EAEU_EEC, ZLG (DE) and HSA (SG), among 14 authorities. Its most recent recorded inspection, by US FDA, closed on 3 March 2026 as NAI.

7
active US DMFs
6
valid CEPs
12
registered plants
3,759
filings across 50 regulators
These figures were checked against the regulators' own files on 25 July 2026
Inspections
0 of 8 confirmed
EU GMP
1 of 1 confirmed
Sources: FDA drug inspection classifications, read 4 May 2026. EudraGMDP (MIA + third-country GMP certs), read 4 May 2026.

Inspection history

  • 3 March 2026 NAI US FDA
  • 5 September 2025 NAI US FDA
  • 21 August 2025 NAI US FDA
  • 12 June 2025 NAI US FDA
  • 18 June 2024 VAI US FDA
  • 19 April 2024 NAI US FDA
  • 30 October 2023 VAI US FDA
  • 12 May 2023 NAI US FDA

NAI means no action indicated, VAI means voluntary action indicated, and OAI means official action indicated.

Registered plants

Site FDA FEI
North Chicago, United Arab Emirates Not on file
Pringy, United Arab Emirates Not on file
Westport, United Arab Emirates Not on file
Texas 76712, United Arab Emirates Not on file
HIMACHAL PRADESH, United Arab Emirates Not on file
Ludwigshafen, United Arab Emirates Not on file

6 further sites are on record.

What they file, and where

Molecule Regulators Docs
Erythromycin EDQM, US FDA 6
Cyclosporine EDQM, US FDA 2
Biperiden EDQM 1
Butorphanol US FDA 1
Isoflurane EDQM 1
Oritavancin Diphosphate SFDA (Saudi Arabia) 1
Paricalcitol US FDA 1
Ritonavir EDQM 1

Also appears on these molecule pages

Show 78 more molecule pages
Cefdinir finished dose Ceftazidime finished dose Ciclosporin API Cisatracurium finished dose Citalopram finished dose Clarithromycin finished dose Codeine finished dose Cromoglicic Acid finished dose Cyclosporine API Dalbavancin finished dose Dapsone finished dose Darifenacin finished dose Dexamethasone finished dose Diltiazem finished dose Donepezil finished dose Elagolix finished dose Eluxadoline finished dose Entacapone finished dose Eprosartan finished dose Erythromycin API Escitalopram finished dose Estradiol finished dose Ethinylestradiol finished dose Famotidine finished dose Fenofibrate finished dose Fluorometholone finished dose Flurbiprofen finished dose Gatifloxacin finished dose Gentamicin finished dose Ibrutinib finished dose Iopamidol finished dose Isoflurane API Isoprenaline finished dose Ketorolac Tromethamine finished dose Leuprolide finished dose Levodopa finished dose Levomilnacipran finished dose Levonorgestrel finished dose Levothyroxine finished dose Linaclotide finished dose Lopinavir finished dose Memantine finished dose Mesalamine finished dose Mesalazine finished dose Milnacipran finished dose Morphine finished dose Naphazoline finished dose Nebivolol finished dose Neomycin finished dose Nitroglycerin finished dose Norethisterone finished dose Ofloxacin finished dose Olaparib finished dose Oxybutynin finished dose Oxymetazoline finished dose Paricalcitol API Phenylephrine finished dose Polymyxin B finished dose Povidone-Iodine finished dose Prednisolone finished dose Progesterone finished dose Risedronic Acid finished dose Risperidone finished dose Ritonavir API Sevoflurane finished dose Silodosin finished dose Sucralfate finished dose Testosterone finished dose Timolol finished dose Tretinoin finished dose Trimethoprim finished dose Trospium finished dose Upadacitinib finished dose Valproic Acid finished dose Valsartan finished dose Venetoclax finished dose Verapamil finished dose Vilazodone finished dose

Filings and GMP by regulator

Regulator Filings GMP certificates
Health Canada 451 None
US FDA 390 5
EMA 252 9
INFARMED (PT) 250 None
FAMHP (BE) 167 None
AIFA (IT) 162 None
EAEU_EEC None 15
ZLG (DE) None 14
HSA (SG) None 12
NAFDAC (NG) None 12
ANSM (FR) None 9
MFDS (Korea) None 6
TMDA (TZ) None 5
MHRA (UK) None 5
FDA (GH) None 4
NCELS (KZ) None 4
ANVISA (Brazil) None 3
SAHPRA (ZA) None 3

Scale

Year Revenue Exports Destinations
2025 $16.6B Not reported Not reported
2024 $15.1B Not reported Not reported
2023 $14.3B Not reported Not reported

Export figures are customs aggregates. We do not publish the identity of any buyer.

Questions about Abbvie

Does Abbvie hold a US DMF or a CEP?
Abbvie holds 7 active US drug master files and 6 valid CEPs. A drug master file is a submission to the FDA describing how an ingredient is made; a CEP is the EDQM's certificate that the substance meets its European Pharmacopoeia monograph. Both are filings rather than approvals.
How did Abbvie's last inspection go?
The most recent inspection on record closed on 3 March 2026 as NAI (No Action Indicated: nothing objectionable was found). 8 inspections are on file.
Where does Abbvie manufacture?
12 registered sites are on record, in United Arab Emirates and Belgium (North Chicago, Pringy and Westport among others). Every site is listed on this page with the register it came from.
What does Abbvie make?
8 molecules are on record against Abbvie, including Erythromycin, Cyclosporine, Biperiden and Butorphanol. Each links through to that molecule's full manufacturer list.
Which regulators recognise Abbvie's GMP?
Current GMP certificates are on record from EEC (Eurasian Economic Union), ZLG (DE), HSA (SG), NAFDAC (NG), EMA and 9 more. GMP recognition covers the manufacturing site, separately from any filing on the substance itself.

Answered from this company's own record. Where a register holds nothing, the question is not asked rather than answered with a zero. How we count our figures.

Comparing suppliers?

Choose your molecules and target markets. Abbvie comes back tiered against every other supplier able to file there.

Start for free
No sales call.

Open risk flags

  • 91 active litigation matters are on record.
  • The most recent inspection outcome was NAI, on 3 March 2026.

Comparable suppliers

Ranked by shared active ingredients where we have them, otherwise by country and comparable credentials.

Sources on this page

FDA
Drug master files, establishment registration, inspection classifications
EDQM
Certificates of suitability
EudraGMDP and national regulators
GMP certificates
Company filings
Revenue as reported