Suppliers / Symrise

Symrise

Germany SY1D.XC Updated 9 July 2026

Symrise is an API manufacturer based in Germany. It holds one valid CEP. Its GMP standing is certified by ZLG (DE) and US FDA. Its most recent recorded inspection, by US FDA, closed on 23 May 2025 as VAI. Customs aggregates show $567K of exports covering 72 molecules to 8 destinations in 2025.

0
active US DMFs
1
valid CEPs
4
registered plants 3 with an FDA FEI number
97
filings across 1 regulators
These figures were checked against the regulators' own files on 25 July 2026
Plants
3 of 3 confirmed
Inspections
8 of 8 confirmed
Sources: FDA Establishment Registration, read 4 May 2026. FDA drug inspection classifications, read 4 May 2026.

Inspection history

  • 23 May 2025 VAI US FDA
  • 5 December 2023 VAI US FDA
  • 7 July 2020 VAI US FDA
  • 21 September 2018 VAI US FDA
  • 9 March 2018 VAI US FDA
  • 22 April 2016 VAI US FDA
  • 27 August 2015 VAI US FDA
  • 6 June 2012 NAI US FDA

NAI means no action indicated, VAI means voluntary action indicated, and OAI means official action indicated.

Registered plants

Site FDA FEI
Holzminden, Germany Not on file
Germany, Germany 3003038513
Mexico, Mexico 3003722350
Goose Creek, United States 1049679

What they file, and where

Molecule Regulators Docs
Levomenthol EDQM, SFDA (Saudi Arabia) 2

Also appears on these molecule pages

Filings and GMP by regulator

Regulator Filings GMP certificates
EEC_EAEU 97 None
ZLG (DE) None 4
US FDA None 2

Scale

Year Revenue Exports Destinations
2026 YTD Not reported $496K 5
2025 Not reported $567K 8
2024 Not reported $460K 10
2023 Not reported $20K 3

Export figures are customs aggregates. We do not publish the identity of any buyer.

Questions about Symrise

Does Symrise hold a US DMF or a CEP?
Symrise holds 1 valid CEP. A drug master file is a submission to the FDA describing how an ingredient is made; a CEP is the EDQM's certificate that the substance meets its European Pharmacopoeia monograph. Both are filings rather than approvals.
Is Symrise FDA-registered?
3 sites operated by Symrise carry an FDA establishment identifier (FEI), which means they are registered with the FDA as a drug establishment. Registration is not the same as approval or inspection clearance.
How did Symrise's last inspection go?
The most recent inspection on record closed on 23 May 2025 as VAI (Voluntary Action Indicated: issues were found but did not warrant regulatory action). 8 inspections are on file.
Where does Symrise manufacture?
4 registered sites are on record, in Germany, Mexico and United States (Holzminden, Germany and Mexico among others). Every site is listed on this page with the register it came from.
What does Symrise make?
1 molecule is on record against Symrise, including Levomenthol. Each links through to that molecule's full manufacturer list.
Which regulators recognise Symrise's GMP?
Current GMP certificates are on record from ZLG (DE) and US FDA. GMP recognition covers the manufacturing site, separately from any filing on the substance itself.

Answered from this company's own record. Where a register holds nothing, the question is not asked rather than answered with a zero. How we count our figures.

Comparing suppliers?

Choose your molecules and target markets. Symrise comes back tiered against every other supplier able to file there.

Start for free
No sales call.

Open risk flags

  • 26 active litigation matters are on record.
  • The most recent inspection outcome was VAI, on 23 May 2025.

Comparable suppliers

Ranked by shared active ingredients where we have them, otherwise by country and comparable credentials.

Sources on this page

FDA
Drug master files, establishment registration, inspection classifications
EDQM
Certificates of suitability
EudraGMDP and national regulators
GMP certificates
Customs aggregates
Export values, molecule and destination counts